May: The Roundup


Since my fairly recent entry into the online ecosystem of writing-related twittering and blogging, I’ve been consistently wowed by the quality of so many people’s output and the real community spirit. There is a genuine feeling of goodwill amongst this brethren of bloggers and twitterers – passing on advice, providing feedback, helping promote each others work. It’s been inspiring. So it felt right to try and put a little something back in as well, hence – THE MONTHLY ROUNDUP. It’ll be interesting to see how long this lasts but I aim to try, at the end of every month, to create a little list of the most interesting stories and community generated articles that I’ve read over the past few weeks – pass on some of the best bits I’ve stumbled across myself. So here goes…

OVERALL STORY OF THE MONTH:

A Storm of Dragons by Gracie Motley

A thrilling piece of high fantasy that is both intimate and epic.  I’m definitely hoping to read some follow-ups to this in the not too distant future.

HUMOUROUS STORY OF THE MONTH:

Sologamous by John C Wiswell

This one’s almost like something from a comedy sketch show (in a good way) – very sharp and very witty.

CHARMING STORY OF THE MONTH:

The Comet’s Love Song by Tessa Bazelli

I loved this little nugget, very polished and beautifully illustrative.

WRITING ADVICE OF THE MONTH:

The 5 Reasons Your Manuscript Keeps Getting Rejected by Victoria Mixon

This one comes with a disclaimer – if you get offended or put off easily then don’t bother reading this. The advice here is all sound and constructive but delivered in a manner that is absolutely brutal. There’s no “just believe in yourself and you can do anything” here, instead there are cold hard facts designed to help those that genuinely want to better their writing ability but also shoot down (in Victoria’s eyes at least) time wasters.

NON-WRITING ADVICE OF THE MONTH:

An Author’s Guide to Twitter by Emma Newman

I felt this deserved a mention as it really hit a lot of nails on the head and provided a nice, friendly introduction to the otherwise initially bewildering world of Twitter.

ALBUM OF THE MONTH:

High Violet by The National

Look past the emo-kid fanbase and you’ll find The National are one of the most intelligent, sophisticated bands of the past few years.  High Violet is their new album and it’s a varied mix of emotional, foot tapping rock.  Check out ‘Terrible Love’ below (skip forward to 0:45 if you want).

Title image courtesy williac

Published in: on May 31, 2010 at 1:48 PM  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aweeadventure.wordpress.com/2010/05/31/may-the-roundup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. As another newcomer to this writing/blogging/twittering community, I know what you mean! It’s pretty amazing to be able to connect with other writers around the world. There’s so much good work out there. I’m looking forward to reading more from you too! Thank you so much the mention!

    • My pleasure Tessa – it’s a great wee story!

  2. Thanks for the mention, I’m so glad that my little guide is helping make sense of it. It took me weeks and weeks to get the hang of Twitter, I’m hoping that my guide will saves others from that pain!

    • Yeah I’m on my second attempt at Twitter (although much more succesfully this time). There’s a bit of a wall you need to punch through to actually “get” Twitter, although that makes it a bit more exclusive I guess.

  3. Hi David,

    Thanks for the link!

    Hey, I want you to know I’m not brutal in real life at all. You can ask my clients. I spend half my time helping them turn their manuscripts into professional works and the other half helping them believe in themselves, supporting them and building their self-esteem, picking up the slack where rejection letters leave off. I spend a whole lot of time on the part about believing themselves. You can tell by the quotes they give me for my site.

    But you’d be amazed at the number professionals in the industry who love that one darn post. It’s even been linked to from Writer’s Digest sites twice. It is hands-down the most professionally-referenced of my posts out there right now. They like it because it’s not just my opinion, it’s what they deal with every blessed day.

    And I would never be able to say those things if I weren’t a writer myself, with thirty years under my belt and my own share of rejections in a nice little box in the place of honor on top of my desk.

    best,
    Victoria

    • Hey Victoria – I certainly wasn’t trying to vilify you, it is a great, inspiring piece and a real breath of fresh air compared to most other posts which is why felt the need to pass it on! Thanks for the feedback and keep up the great work.

  4. This could be a great way to connect with other writers as well as serve as a portal to quality recent fiction. I hope you do keep it up in the long term and that it pans out well for you. Regardless, thanks for the kind words on Sologamous, David. I loved writing it and am tickled that so many people have gotten a laugh from it.

    • I’m really liking that idea actually of having something to draw writers together but which is less formal than one of these Ultimate Writer’s Paradise forums. Hopefully the Writer’s Carnival started over at The Four Part Land will do something similiar.

  5. Very useful post, thanks for all the links to great content.

    • My pleasure Cathryn – remember and check back same time in a month!


Leave a Reply

