Novel Biographer – NaNoWriMo Edition


I’m going to be up front and confess that, once again, I’ve chickened out of attempting National Novel Writing Month. Maybe next year.

But for those of you who are, you might be interested a handy little tool I made, called “Novel Biographer”. It is an Excel spreadsheet in which you can record your daily writing progress and it generates all sorts of useful facts and charts about how you’re getting on, motivating you to do more.

I’ve put together a pre-configured version especially for NaNoWriMo that you can download from here: Novel Biographer – NaNoWriMo 2011 Edition

Good luck!

Published in: on November 1, 2011 at 10:05 AM  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aweeadventure.wordpress.com/2011/11/01/novel-biographer-nanowrimo-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not doing it either this year. I’d rather write at my own pace? 🙂

    • Yeah I’m more of a plodder than a marathon runner myself! Definitely intend to give it a go at some point though, prove that I can do it.

  2. Amazing little resource. Thank you for sharing it!

    • My pleasure Lucy! To my shame I’ve not actually used the Novel Biographer myself yet, need to start a new novel especially!

  3. Yeah, I’m not on board with NaNoWriMo this year, either… at the start of the year I was up-in-the-air about it… but I’ve come to see that it’s just not realistic for me at this time…

    If ever I get to a point in my career where I actually have time to write whenever I want… then it might be feasible. I do hope that day will come.

    • I tend to think about it doing it the following year and then suddenly it’s November already!

  4. I’d have to tie up my wife & in-laws in the basement before I could even think of doing NaNo. I like to think I could do it though, if I could eliminate distractions.

    • Yes it would be a difficult situation that one:
      “What you doing? You’ve been locked in the study for hours! I need help making the dinner.”
      “Oh don’t worry, it’s just a little project – another hour or so.”
      “Fine but as long it’s not like this every day.”
      “Um…”

  5. Hey David!

    I’ve joined Nano this year! To track my progress as well as keep track of characters, chapters etc. I’ve taken your original Novel Biographer and modified it. Still working on the edits now, but once I’m finished, I’ll send over my version (if you’re interested).

    • That’s awesome news and I’d love to see both your results and what you’ve done with the Novel Biographer! And best of luck with NaNo!

  6. It’s actually much much easier than I thought it would be. It’s only, what 1667 words a day? That’s an hour of writing, tops. Do you really not have an hour a day to spare? Hm?

    I’m not trying to criticise you, here. I’ve known about NaNo for years and every year I would think: ‘oh yeah, NaNoWriMo, but it’s November next week and I don’t know what I’d write and would I really have time? Ah, I’ll just do it next year.’ This year is different because I’m doing a masters in Creative Writing so I really don’t have an excuse. All I’m meant to be doing is writing. And I know how incredibly fortunate that makes me and I also know how impossible writing seems when you’re working full-time. But an hour a day? I could have managed that. Maybe not on the 12 hour+ shift days but the other days.

    But thanks so much for this tool. I will give it a go.

    • Glad to hear NaNo’s going well for you Louise. This year I genuinely don’t have an hour to spare, I’m in the midst of moving house and various other major projects. Next year though I SWEAR.


Leave a Reply

